Student enrolments

Students are enrolled automatically into your Learn.UQ course based on enrolments from SI-NET (UQ’s enrolment system). Enrolments may take 2-3 three days to transfer from SI-NET to your Blackboard course.

Note: if a student does not appear in your Learn.UQ course, first check they are actually enrolled by checking your SI-NET class list (professional staff in your school or faculty should be able to help you with this). If a student is in your SI-NET class list but not in your Blackboard course contact Helpdesk.

Student withdrawals

Students are withdrawn from your Learn.UQ course automatically based on information from SI-NET. Again withdrawals may take 2-3 three days to transfer from SI-NET to your Blackboard course.

Withdrawn students are no long visible in Grade Centre and their contributions to the course (Discussion Boards, Blogs, Wikis) are also not visible. If you need a copy of assessment, marks, course contributions of withdrawn students contact Helpdesk.

Student re-enrolments

If student re-enrol in course they previously withdrew from, they will be automatically re-enrolled in the Learn.UQ course based on information from SI-NET.  Again re-enrolments may take 2-3 three days to transfer from SI-NET to your Learn.UQ course.Their previously entered marks, submitted assessment and contributions to the course will all then be available.

Deletion of students from a course

Students should never be deleted from a Learn.UQ course, as this action will permanently delete all the student’s marks, submitted assessment and course contributions (Discussion Boards, Blogs, Wikis).

If you need to ensure a student does not have access to a course (i.e. disciplinary action) and cannot wait for the SI-NET withdrawal process you should make the course unavailable to the student.

Making a course unavailable to a student

In some circumstances you will need to ensure a student no longer has access to a Learn.UQ course immediately (i.e. disciplinary action). Making the course unavailable to the student will ensure they can no longer access the Learn.UQ course but their marks, submitted assessment and course contributions remain available.

  • From the Control Panel select Users and Groups > Users.

Control panel with users and groups circled

  • Click on the arrow next to the required student.
  • Select Change User’s Availability in course from the drop down menu.

Drop down menu with change user's availability in course

  • Select No from the Availability drop down menu.
  • Click the Submit button.

Change user's availability in course setup screen with Available drop down box selected and No circled

Note: If you need to remove inappropriate contributions to:

  • Discussion Boards: Refer the Discussion Board tool page, Deleting and editing student threads and posts guide.
  • Blogs and Journals: Refer the Blogs tool page, Editing student posts and comments guide.
  • Wikis: Refer the Wiki tool page, Deleting / editing student contributions guide.