The Course Gallery is a searchable and sortable display of all media content published to a course by staff and students.

Learn.UQ course site with the course gallery link circled in the course menu

Note: To use Kaltura on campus you must be logged into the UQ Internet Quota System. i.e. Enter any external website address into your browser, enter your user name and password and click continue.

Publish videos to the Course Gallery

You can publish a video to the Course Gallery in two ways:

  1. Staff and students can publish a video to a Course Gallery from their My Media area.
  2. Staff can select to publish a video to a Course Gallery when inserting a video into a Content Area.

Note: Any videos uploaded to your course sites are stored in the My Media area (refer Insert a Video using the Text Editor guide and Insert a Kaltura Video into a Content Area guide). 

You can also upload videos directly to your My Media area (refer to My Media guide).

Note: When students publish a video to the course gallery, it will appear as Pending in the Course Gallery. As the instructor, you will still be able to view this video and grade it accordingly. To share the video with the rest of the students you will need to Approve it.

Media gallery with the pending button circled and the approve button circled

Publish from My Media

Media stored in My Media is only available to you until it is published to a particular course. 

  1. Login to Learn.UQ(Blackboard)
  2. Click on the Welcome tab.
  3. Click on My Media link.

Learn.UQ Welcome page with My media circled under tools

  1. Check to select the video/s that you would like to publish.
  2. Click on the Actions button.
  3. Select Publish from the drop down menu.

Check box ticked and circled next to a video along with the actions button circled and publish circled in the drop down menu

  1. Select the Published radio button.
  2. Check the relevant course code from the list.
  3. Click on the Save button.

My media publish screen with the published radio button, the desired course check box and the save button all circled

  1. Click on the Back button.

My media publish screen with the back button circled

Check where a video is published

My Media

  1. Locate the required video from My Media list.
  2. Click on the See where the media is published button. 

Note: If a video has not been published, the See where the media is published button will be grey and inactive. 

My media screen with the See where the media is published button (looks like a plus sign) circled next to a video

  1. Click on the See where the media is published button to collapse the view.

My media screen with the See where the media is published button (looks like a negative sign) circled next to a video

Add a link to the Course Gallery

  1. From the Course Menu, click on the Add Menu Item button.
  2. Select Tool Link from the drop down menu.

Course menu with plus button circled and tool link circled from the drop down menu

  1. Enter “Course Gallery” as the title in the Name textbox.
  2. Select the Media Gallery from the Type drop down list.
  3. Check the Available to Users checkbox.
  4. Click on the Submit button.

Add tool link screen with name text box, the type drop down box, the available to users check box and the submit button all circled.

  1. Hover over the tool link.
  2. Click and drag the double arrow to the left of the Tool Link to the required position.

Course menu with new Course Gallery link and the double headed arrow circled next to the link

Pending Course Gallery videos

By default all videos added to a Course Gallery by students are Pending and are not viewable by the rest of the students. For videos to be shared with the rest of the cohort as the instructor you will need to Approve the video.

  • From the Course Menu select Course Gallery.
  • Click on the Pending button to view the videos awaiting approval.
  • Optionally, click on the Play button to view a video.
  • Optionally, click on the Approve button to share the video/s with the rest of the cohort.  You can select multiple videos at once by checking the checkboxes to the left of the video/s.

Note: Videos do not need to be approved for you to view and grade them.  Only approve the videos that you would like to share with the rest of the cohort.  Otherwise leave them as Pending so that the video is directly shared only between you and the student.

Course gallery